Bah Humbug!

English: Fireworks over Edinburgh on New Year'...

English: Fireworks over Edinburgh on New Year’s Eve (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So it’s New Year’s Day.  So what?  I ask you, why is this such an important day that billions of dollars be spent on fireworks, alcohol, and lost productivity?  All of this in celebration of a new desk calendar.  Bah Humbug!

Don’t get me wrong, I get the whole “new beginnings” and “new chapter”.  I’ll Rosh Hashanah and Kung Xi Fat Choi with the best of them.  Who doesn’t love a good Ras as-Sanah al-Hijriyah?  The traditions and rituals of Hogmanay can inspire, (although I wonder whether the West has taken over even in Alba these days).  I say kia kaha to those looking to instate Matariki in Aotearoa, but the idea of celebrating the first of January with such vigor really does leave me cold, and mystified.

I pray, hope, and believe that 2014 CE will be a happy year, but let’s just get on with it shall we?

Leave a Reply

