Paraphrase

Psalm 119:33-40
(Paraphrase)

Oh God, let me know what you want done; teach me Torah then let me loose to fulfil your purposes in the way you created me to do.
My LORD I know you know everything, and I know that I do not; but only let me in on the secret and I will utilise the fullest portion of my unique talents, skills, love and opportunities to bring your plans into being.


Show me the way you want me to go, because that is the only direction I wish to choose.


Draw me to you and the things you love; attract me away from anything that might distract me, but remind me where you are and of the place from which you call.


You chose me to fill a unique plan in this world, and then you liberated and released me to run my own race toward the prize which is you. You gave me a bearing, but not a lane. You gave me a road, but not a railroad. As I move about on the track you gave me, the track of an athlete but not the track of a tram, continue to call me on so that I may finish well and that in seeing me finish the world may cheer for you.


I don’t need a leash or reins LORD, I am neither a toddle, a pet dog, nor or carthorse, but sometimes I need a compass. When I am lost only call to me and I shall return.


I love your way LORD, that your road is straight and safe, but that it is more than two feet wide. I want to walk in your footprints, not in the ruts of the wheels of others, because it is you alone I follow.

Leave a Reply

